Network+ or CCNA?

ITcognitoITcognito Member Posts: 61 ■■□□□□□□□□
Currently working on obtaining A+ cert. I have basic knowledge of OSI and TCP/IP models and how to configure routers/switches already from college courses. Which of these two certifications should I pursue? Or should I get both? I'm looking to get CCNA/CCNP Security in the future.

Comments

• Dakinggamer87Dakinggamer87 Member Posts: 4,016 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I would jump straight into the Cisco CCNA and maybe review a Network+ book just to brush up any missing gaps. Since you already have some networking knowledge and fundamentals such as TCP/IP and the OSI model.
    *Associate's of Applied Sciences degree in Information Technology-Network Systems Administration
    *Bachelor's of Science: Information Technology - Security, Master's of Science: Information Technology - Management
    Matthew 6:33 - "Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need."

Certs/Business Licenses In Progress: AWS Solutions Architect, Series 6, Series 63
  • Snow.brosSnow.bros Member Posts: 832 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I am starting with network+ but if you are confident to take a higher exam go for CCNA if you prefer not to waste time.
  • kaytauruskaytaurus Member Posts: 28 ■■■□□□□□□□
  • JimehbooJimehboo Member Posts: 23 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I did some research on this question and most people will tell you to go for the CCNA and skip Net+. CCNA holds more value. At the end of the day everyone's situation is different. I had the same dilemma and decided to study Net+ first to give me some confidence as well as a good foundation. Hopefully I will be passing the Net+ soon and will go for the CCNA next.
  • NetworkVeteranNetworkVeteran Member Posts: 2,338 ■■■■■■■■□□