Do you ever leave your and/or clauses directly in the join?

N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
Lately I have been trying to keep my code cleaner and tightening things up a bit more. Instead of creating huge where clauses I have been putting my and / or operands directly in the join, (if the clause is associated with the join. For instance a address join, I will do and / or = '67%" for an address or for example, instead of where and then your criteria. I find my queries run faster as well, since most of mine are 4 joins at least and some go to attribute tables and can be over 25 joins. Do you practice this as well? Just wondering.

Comments

• ZorodzaiZorodzai Member Posts: 357 ■■■■■■■□□□
    I do that too. I honestly don't know why I chose to do it that way but it works so just stuck to it. Kinda like you I was thrown a bit in the deep end when I started learning SQL so, for a long time, I would learn/google how to do something without really understanding the underlying process taking place. Itzik's T-SQL Fundamentals 2008 book really helped me a lot in my understanding what my queries are doing in the db....... you are really working hard on your SQL - keep it up :)
  • N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Yeah as long as the column is captured in that join it's okay to add your clauses there. If you are unsure I would go with the where clause. That will introduce all joins with the statement or vice versa.
  • NotHackingYouNotHackingYou Member Posts: 1,460 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I go to the where clause unless it's required for the join. IMO it's cleaner for me to read.
    When you go the extra mile, there's no traffic.
  • RobertKaucherRobertKaucher Member Posts: 4,299 ■■■■■■■■■■
    There are important differences in how INNER and OUTER joins deal with the placement of filter predicates.