Afraid of Cisco

tbgree00tbgree00 Member Posts: 553 ■■■■□□□□□□
I'm in an interesting place right now. I've got a ton of MS certifications, a VCP, etc but now I've been asked to go after Cisco and it scares me. I don't know why, I usually jump into studying, reading, etc. Right now I just think of anything else in the world I would rather be doing. Has anyone else transitioned into Cisco? I think I'm just being a big baby.

In the end I'm afraid I will be bad at it but expected to do the work since I studied the stuff. I think that's what I'm afraid of. Being responsible for a network when I have no clue what's up.
I finally started that blog - www.thomgreene.com

Comments

• dave330idave330i Member Posts: 2,091 ■■■■■■■■■■
    You're being a big baby. icon_wink.gif

Cisco is pretty straight forward compared to MS.
    2018 Certification Goals: Maybe VMware Sales Cert
    "Simplify, then add lightness" -Colin Chapman
  • PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    Same process with the Cisco Certs as with other certs.

And if the 'fear' is failure...I cannot speak for others, but you are not alone. Just about everyone I have spoken with always feels a little of that ..."oh, no what if I fail this exam, what will my peers say?" And the reality is, the more exams you take, the more you challenge yourself, the more likely you might fail an exam here or there.

Gain as much experience on the topic you want to test on. Gather books and hardware or virtual hardware labs to practice. TALK to the folks here as many have already taken this path and can offer their advice, but set a goal for yourself and go for it!

If you ALWAYS make your goal (without some failures on the journey)...your goal was set too low ;)
    Plantwiz
    _____
    "Grammar and spelling aren't everything, but this is a forum, not a chat room. You have plenty of time to spell out the word "you", and look just a little bit smarter." by Phaideaux