Passed Security+ SY0-301!!!!

[Deleted User][Deleted User] Senior MemberPosts: 0 ■■□□□□□□□□
Took my Security+ on Saturday and knocked it out of the park!!!! The simulation questions were mostly straight forward but some that were confusing based on wording and what they asked for, in my opinion seemed to be "beta" simulation questions. If I would have looked at 1 area more in depth, I wish I would have looked more into risk management, analysis, etc. Anywho, I passed:D now it's time for some good old R&R. Now that my vender neutrals are done (to my standards), this is the point in my IT career when I must choose between Cisco or Microsoft. I see the benefits of both. I was told by some network admins who I respect to take certs in both vendors based on demand/interests. I am planning to take the CCNA within the next year or so or the 70-640 Active Directory. Can anyone shed some light? I'm only a college student and need some guidance. Thanks!!

What I used to study:
Darril Gibson SY0-301 guide
Darril Gibson Security+ Android App
Professor Messer videos SY0-301
Security+ eTestPrep Sybex

Comments

• DarrilDarril Member Posts: 1,588
    Congrats on the pass.

Between routers and servers, what appeals to you more? The CCNA is more than just routers, and 70-640 is more than just servers, but if you're drawn to one or the other more, that's what you should pursue.
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Senior Member Posts: 0 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I have more experience with routers but I have all of a sudden gained a fascination for servers especially with AD since my new IT job I have gotten some hands on experience with AD. I still have an interest in router configuration I am thinking as for my first step away from vendor neutral to vendor specific (Job market/demands etc.)
  • Arod95Arod95 Member Posts: 216 ■■■□□□□□□□