Which certs to get me started in cybersecurity?

Dabull25Dabull25 Member Posts: 19 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am starting a masters in cybersecurity in the fall. I have no experience in IT so while I am in school I am looking to get some IT experience in a job. Which certificate should I go after first to land a job that will gain me experience in this field?

Comments

• higherhohigherho Member Posts: 882
    If your getting a Masters degree in Cybersecurity then you don't need a certification to get you into the field. You have more than enough education, I would start looking for positions to gain experience. If you want to continue your education after your masters then certifications will help that. Their are a lot of roles within the cyber security realm (forensics, Information Assurance Engineers, Security Network Engineers, Incident Response, etc). Search what type of role you would like to get into and then you will have a better idea of what certification path will help you more. For example, a CISSP is a good overall managerial /security certification but if you want to be more of an engineer then OCSP is a better choice.
  • Dabull25Dabull25 Member Posts: 19 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I am looking to get into the IT field while I am in school. I probably wouldnt be able to find a job without any experience or certification, right?
  • TBickleTBickle Member Posts: 110