New to computers and wondering where to start

1337parker1337parker Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello, everyone. I have a general interest for computers and have been wanting to work with them for quite a while. The job description sounds much better than what I'm in now, but it's a bit daunting. I have zero experience or schooling regarding the subjects, but I can at least build a computer. What would I need to get the ability to start working in the field and then possibly go to school for it? I'm also not sure if I should get into Linux and or focus on cloud services. The certifications I've pin pointed are as follows:

comptia a+
MCSE
Cisco
citrix
mcts
ccent
network + (i think i remember reading this or a+)

On a side note: would these also help me get jobs if I went anywhere besides the US?

Comments

• Master Of PuppetsMaster Of Puppets Member Posts: 1,210
    The CompTIA exams are a great start. They serve as good entry level material. Do you have an area of IT in which you want to get into(networking,programming etc.)? This will help people give you better advice.
    Yes, I am a criminal. My crime is that of curiosity. My crime is that of judging people by what they say and think, not what they look like. My crime is that of outsmarting you, something that you will never forgive me for.
  • Snow.brosSnow.bros Member Posts: 832 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Seeing that you have a bit of a background knowledge in building computers it is good idea that you start with CompTIA A+, this certification could be the key to enter into the IT industry. Which ever choice you take i wish all the best!!!icon_thumright.gif
  • About7NarwhalAbout7Narwhal Member Posts: 761