Passed the test

elondonelondon Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey all!

Passed my Security + ce on the 12th and just wanted to put it out there that I used Darril Gibson's CompTIA Security+: Get Certified Get Ahead: SY0-301 Study Guide. I have about 2 years experience in the industry and have taken many security focused classes. One important note to be taken is that regaurdless of your hands on security skills this can still be challenging. I skimmed through the book and read all the sections I was unfamiliar with. I also did all the practice questions the book had as well as practice questions on this site. The one thing none of them prepare you for is the practical questions which will absolutely throw your for one. I would recommend skipping over them if you don't know them. There were only about 2 and it is not worth being stressed the entire test over two questions. Keep your confidence level high and worry about the tough ones last.

Let me know if you have any questions.

Comments

• Arod95Arod95 Member Posts: 216 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Congratulations on the pass! and I was wondering what do you mean by practical questions? Are you talking about the new performance base questions?
  • elondonelondon Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thank you! Yes, sorry, that is exactly what I was referring to. They opened up with performance base questions that we not very intuitive.
    They are starting with that with all of their Updated certs I wouldn't be surprised if the test will start becoming half performance, and half regular. What do you plan on going for next?
  • elondonelondon Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I plan on taking the C|EH v7 in a few weeks and then CISSP around January/February time.
    Good luck with your future exams! And let me know how C|EH v7 goes I plan to take v8 next year.
  • horusthesunhorusthesun Member Posts: 289
    elondon wrote:
    Hey all!

Passed my Security + ce ...snip

Congrats!