New to IT and the forums

sd37sd37 Member Posts: 13 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey all, I'm a new IT student pursuing a cyber-security certification program (might do an associates, it just depends). I'm finishing my first semester now (doing A+ and Network+) and plan to look for a help desk job within a few months after I study up a bit more for the cert exams. Second semester is looking like CCNA 1 and 2, and then Security+. I'm just curious as to what anyone out there thinks about certifications vs a 4 year degree? I'd like to get a 4 year someday, but for right now it's just not doable. Any and all opinions are welcome.

Comments

• NytrocideNytrocide Member Posts: 225
    Nice! Where are you currently a student?
    Goals for 2014: CCNA: Voice / CCNA: Security
  • sd37sd37 Member Posts: 13 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I'm at Collin College in Texas. Their cyber-security program is supposed to be pretty top-notch (and it's still dirt cheap, not enough people have caught on yet)
  • Arod95Arod95 Member Posts: 216 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Welcome to the forums! I would say that based on a lot of higher level jobs they usually require a 4 year degree. But they also require experience so starting at an entry level job should usually only require a high school diploma/some college education. Certifications are good to introduce you, and help you understand technology, or any other info better. But nothing replaces experience. So I would say 4 year degree over certs, but if you can do both do both! They compliment each other especially if you get a job the adds experience related to your certs!