Options

Project+ entry level jobs

ogabobogabob Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello, I passed my Project+ Exam in may and I was looking to get an entry level job as a project manager, business analyst or something in that line. I am kinda new to IT and I was looking for the best way to get my foot in. All this is new to me and I was looking for the best way to get started.

Comments

• Options
    burfectburfect Member Posts: 128
    ogabob wrote: »
    Hello, I passed my Project+ Exam in may and I was looking to get an entry level job as a project manager, business analyst or something in that line. I am kinda new to IT and I was looking for the best way to get my foot in. All this is new to me and I was looking for the best way to get started.

Curious as to some responses on this as well...
  • Options
    krjaykrjay Member Posts: 290
    I'm an aspiring PM myself, I was in the same boat as you about a year ago. What I learned is that it's tough to find an entry level project management role. You might get lucky and find a project coordinator type role where you basically jockey Microsoft Project and print gantt charts. At the company I currently work for, all of our new PMs are basically groomed. For example if they wanted a PM that has a networking background they will determine who is the most experienced individual in the networking field and ask them if they want to transition to a PM role. Not everyone wants to, and not everyone ends up working out, but I've never seen anyone hired from outside the company for a PM role.

Of course this is only a single example, and PMs get hired from outside companies. But in my limited experience project managers are at the top of their class in a certain field, and end up managing projects in said field.
    2014 Certification Goals: 70-410 [ ] CCNA:S [ ] Linux+ [ ]
  • Options
    TechGuy215TechGuy215 Member Posts: 404 ■■■■□□□□□□