some questions about recruiters

treehousetreehouse Member Posts: 77 ■■□□□□□□□□
I posted my resume (thanks again for the help, Essendon and others) at a few places, and immediately got emails from half a dozen recruiters. Most of the emails were obviously form letters so I ignored them, but I did respond to the two that appeared to have been crafted by a human.

Anyway, I talked to one of them on the phone today and he wants me to come in for an interview on Thursday. I have no experience with IT recruiters, so I thought I'd check with the experts again.

What can I expect at this interview? Should I dress for it as if I'm going to an interview for a job? The firm he works with does recruiting for some of the places in town that I'd really like to work for some day (Fortune 500 companies, hospitals, etc.).

Also, what should I expect from working with recruiters in general? Is it like working with a real estate agent where you have one represent you at a time, or do you work with as many recruiters as you trust until someone lands you a job?

I've heard some have a reputation for being exploitative (just putting you into the lowest wage job you'll take so they can get their commission). Is there much merit to that?

Thanks for any insight you have!
2015 GOALS

VCP [ ] VCP5-DT

Comments

• IristheangelIristheangel Mod Posts: 4,133 Mod
    Recruiter interviews are a piece of cake. They tend to not be overly technical. They might have a prepared test that you take and it grades you on your proficiency in IT but the actual conversation won't be technical. They are usually very eager to get you into an interview with their client (sometimes even if you are not qualified for the position) and that's where you might trip and fail a technical interview. The hourly rate tends to be negotiable but you have to be aggressive to get the best rate.