Options

Microsoft or any Certification advice for University student

mishymishy Member Posts: 209 ■■■□□□□□□□
I am starting university at 33 in October and I will be doing a degree in Computer Information Technology. There will be a bit of Java, Database programming and website designing but I gather from my age when I finish it will be hard for me to enter in those positions as a junior (Java or Website Developer).

I have been working in IT for 4 years now mainly doing IT support (1st and 2nd) and I have A+, Net+ and some Microsoft Support Certs like Vista, XP and Server, I had been aiming to complete my MCSA 2003 but I failed twice on the last exam and I dont have time to revise before they retire next week.

Since I am not really keen or sure I will be a able to do a junior position at 37 when I finish my studies I was hoping to be a Business Intelligence or Analyst when I finish I need to know what certs I can do to help improve my chances of being employed. I had hope I could do an MCSA 2012 in Server Infrastructure and then finish MCSE with a Database path but unfortunately no path like that exist.

I need some certs that will allow me to use my experience in Support along with the Degree I will hopefully complete which will be database and Java orientated. I hope you can understand what I have tried to explain without being to bored.

Here is path of me so far IT Support(4years with Microsoft and Comptia Certs) -> currently studying CIT Degree -> I need to plan to do some certs along my degree.

Also how can I retain my experience whilst I am doing my degree because I do not want to start from the bottom again? Any advice on how I can safely do that without jeopardising my studies?

Comments

• Options
    NinjaBoyNinjaBoy Member Posts: 968
    Hi mate,

Are you doing your degree full time, part-time or distance learning?