About to get started on the MCSA Server 2012

treehousetreehouse Member Posts: 77 ■■□□□□□□□□
I'm taking a break from Cisco to get some sysadmin credentials, and I think I'd like to start with the MCSA Server 2012. I'm in school full-time and I work, so I'm giving myself a full year to finish this one. Is that too generous? How does the MCSA compare to the CCNA in terms of difficulty? I have six years of experience in a Microsoft environment, but the servers I administrate are all SUSE.

I haven't started picking up study material yet, but my plan is to get these:

Windows Server 2012 Inside Out
MCSA Windows Server 2012 (Sybex)

I have a Dreamspark membership through my university, so I have access to pretty much everything I need to set up a lab. We also have a CBT Nuggets hot seat at work now, so I'll be using those.

I guess (beyond my question about difficulty relative to CCNA), I'm just posting to say 'hi, I'm going to be here for a while'.
2015 GOALS

VCP [ ] VCP5-DT

Comments

• ITMonkeyITMonkey Member Posts: 200
    Welcome to the party, @treehouse.
  • jamthatjamthat Member Posts: 304 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I'm about to get started on this as well and am planning for 6 months. Hoping the Sybex book is good!

Also, I just send you a pm :D

^-- At least I think I did..it's not showing in my sent folder. If I didn't, please send me a PM? I have a few questions about the Tulsa area and would really appreciate it.
  • MeatCatalogueMeatCatalogue Member Posts: 145
    Taking one exam every 4 months will be good. And perhaps in a year 10% of enterprises might be using it icon_lol.gif As for right now its a largely worthless cert, especially with 2012 R2 releasing within the next 90 days.
  • treehousetreehouse Member Posts: 77 ■■□□□□□□□□
    PMed you back, jamthat.