New to forum and new to IT

tekstrom5tekstrom5 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I would like to take the time to introduce myself. My name is Tyler and I am currently a firefighter/paramedic/hazmat tech at a fire department here in Florida. I am now taking the necessary steps to transition to an IT job. I have always been pretty knowledgeable when it comes to computers. Everyone at the station always comes to me when they have a computer issue or math question. I will preface all of this by reassuring anyone that reads this, I understand my skills probably don't even scratch the surface compared to anyone else on here. I wanted to come on here and ask everyone some questions that have experience in Information Technology by also prefacing that I have used the search feature and come up dry. It may be due to this being such an advanced forum in the subject but from what I have stumbled upon so far, this forum seems to be a very valuable and reliable resource for anyone in IT.
All that being said, and please correct me if I am wrong, but I have looked into WGU and decided that is probably going to be my best bet. I understand from what I have read on here and other searches that I have done, I am going to probably save more money and time by getting some of the transferrable certifications prior to applying to WGU. My education background is heavy in math including calc I-III, diff eq, linear algebra, trig, physics I for engineers, etc. If I can prepare for a certification it seems like I should start with A+ from what I have read unless there is something else I should do first. I am determined to change the path I am on and unfortunately I can't just quit and go to a university due to needing an income.

I am really just trying to reach out and any advice, information, and/or mentoring would be greatly appreciated!

Tyler

**Also just a side note, if this is not the appropriate place for this new thread, I apologize in advance**

Comments