RouteMyWorld's CCIE Journey Begins

aragoen_celtdraaragoen_celtdra Member Posts: 246
Well, I'm making it official by declaring on TE that I'm finally going for the CCIE. :)

A quick blurb about me: I started out in IT around 2001 after graduating college. Stopped working for about 2 years (2002-2003) to study music -music theory, that is (I'm also a part-time church musician/accompanist). Resumed working in IT Support in 2004. That is when I began exposure to Cisco. Since then I've had gradual increase in exposure and experience working with Cisco gear. In 2011 I started working at a MSO (cable provider) and currently I work as a Network Engineer tasked with configuration, implementation and maintenance of the edge routing devices - mostly 7609s and a few ASR9Ks.

I've decided that my approach will be to focus on passing the written portion first then go deeper towards labbing later - as opposed to hitting the labs hard now and take the written whenever I feel I'm ready. Of course I'm still going to lab stuff up to complement the theory.

Because I work for a huge MSO, I was thrilled to find that we have a pretty hefty collection of training materials available for our consumption - mostly Cisco Press publications. So for the written, I have the following materials to use:

CCIE Routing and Switching Certification Guide
Routing TCP/IP, Volume 1
Routing TCP/IP, Volume 2
Building Scalable Cisco Internetworks (BSCI) (Authorized Self-Study Guide)
Building Cisco Multilayer Switched Networks (BCMSN) - 4th Edition
Developing IP Multicast Networks - Volume I
IP Telephony Self-Study Cisco QOS Exam Certification Guide, Second Edition

Do you think this is enough for the written? Or is it overkill?