General Q Re: Security+

netsurfer802netsurfer802 Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm studying for Security+ and am wanting to know what others have done to successfully pass the Security+ exam the first time.

I have bought Security+ book by Michael Meyers and also make flash cards for questions I don't get right.

Is there any thing else I can do that another has done to successfully pass this certification the first time?

Thanks in advanced for any helpful response.

Comments

• SharkbaitSharkbait Member Posts: 35 ■■□□□□□□□□
    There are 3 things I read on this website that is almost universal...
    1. The Darril Gibson Security+ book
    2. The Professor Messer training videos on youtube (*free*)...that's always nice.
    3. As many practice exam questions you can get your hands on. This website has a few hundred, and there are others out there too.

Piece of advice...make sure you really understand the material. The questions on the exam are worded in such a way that confuse you if you don't know why the right answer is the right answer, and the wrong answer is the wrong answer.

Another thing I'm doing is just picking through some of the threads in this website. There are some juicy nuggets in there as well.

Good luck,
    -Sharkbait-
  • DarrilDarril Member Posts: 1,588
    Welcome to the forums netsurfer802. In addition to the suggestions Sharkbait mentions, I recommend you read up on the new performance based questions. CompTIA added them after the objectives were released and they have surprised some test takers.

Good luck.
  • TechGuy215TechGuy215 Member Posts: 404 ■■■■□□□□□□
    All of the aforementioned resources are great!

I also recommend making yourself a study guide with the following:

1. Well-known Ports
    2. PKI's
    3. Encryption Types: Asym and Sym
    4. Basic definitions of Attacks

Use this study guide the day of the exam right before sitting, just to keep fresh!

Good Luck! icon_thumright.gif