Study regiment with a family

BoneSpurBoneSpur Member Posts: 33 ■■□□□□□□□□
I need ideas and suggestions please. I lost my job and I am unemployed, keeping my two year old daughter during the day. She is a handful and mentally taxing. I try to study before she wakes up and when she takes a nap, but I'm not being disciplined enough to study like I should. Have any of you been in this situation? How did you study? My wife gets home at 5:30 each day. I'm really struggling trying to find a balance. I'm studying for the A+ now and will go on from there.

thanks in advance.
All the effort in the world won't matter if you're not inspired. - Chuck Palahniuk

Comments

• veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Greetings fellow South Carolinian! I just completed a CCNA while dealing with a 2 year old and a 10 month old. The thing to remember is that it's not about how fast you complete the race, but being sure you simply complete it. I try to get at least an hour in each day of study.

Also, have you started looking for a Help Desk job? They don't pay much but at least you can get a foot hold into the IT world. I'm assuming this is a career change? I'm sorry to hear you lost your job.
  • PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    Veritas is spot on...this is not a race!

Set goals and make progress. While having a 2 year old is challenging, it is up to you to not let the situation run you into the ground. It may be easier said then done, but I am speaking from experience.

Couple ideas:

1 - Set some "you" time. Pick one hour or maybe two 30 minute times when you and your books/lab/etc.. are undisturbed. Either before the household gets going, or after dinner time when the child is in bed...and with a 2 year old, we had a six or six-thirty bedtime...the adults need a break ;). Just do not make the time immediately upon your spouse walking in the door.