Ivan's CCNP Thread

IvanjamIvanjam Member Posts: 978 ■■■■□□□□□□
After completing the CCNA:R&S, I started studying for the CCNA:Sec but decided to switch to ROUTE after examining some of the arguments for and against deepening one's knowledge of R&S before branching off into any of the CCNA specializations. For starters, I decided to take on the vaunted ROUTE exam! The daunting list of material that I have arrayed in front of me so far are:

ROUTE OCG (hard copy)
ROUTE FLG (hard copy)
CCNP ROUTE Simplified (Kindle edition)
INE ROUTE videos
CBT Nuggets ROUTE videos
Chris Bryant ROUTE videos

I also have Packet Tracer, GNS3 and a home lab with 6 routers (a 2821 and a mix of 2610XM and 2620XM) as well as 6 switches (4 x 3550 and 2 x 2950).

So far, I have watched the CBT Nuggets videos on EIGRP and OSPF and I just started BGP - haven't cracked any of the books open yet and I haven't done much labbing - just a few GNS3 configs. I intend to go over all the CBT Nuggets videos once for a basic introduction to the scope of the exam then I plan to tackle the OCG topic by topic with labs to cement all the concepts. Afterwards I will watch the other video series and read the FLG to fill in the knowledge gaps.
Fall 2014: Start MA in Mathematics [X]
Fall 2016: Start PhD in Mathematics [X]

Comments

• blueberriesblueberries Banned Posts: 138
    Good work, comrade. Keep up the hard work, and then when you pass, bust out a nice bottle of vodka and go to work.
  • IvanjamIvanjam Member Posts: 978 ■■■■□□□□□□
    @blueberries - thanks for the sentiment. However, I must warn you that only alcoholics drink alone, so you will have to stop by and share the good pshenichnaya with me and, while we are at it, we will have to co-opt a third TE member to join in the celebrations as the Deity loves a Trinity.
    I would love to stop by your dacha, my friend, but big cities give me the willies. Lets just telnet for now.
  • sratakhinsratakhin Member Posts: 818
    Too bad I'm in Nebraska :)