Can AP operate in layer 3 OSI model?

jakkijakki Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
I just wonder if AP nowadays can be operated like a router in some sort, does it count to work in the network layer then? I ask this because the books I am reading say it only work on layer 2 in the OSI model. Thx in advance! icon_study.gif

Comments

• Snow.brosSnow.bros Member Posts: 832 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I am no expert but i have been studying Net+ for quiet some time and based on what i have been studying an access point is a layer 2 (data link) device of the OSI reference model. In the layer 3 hardware of the reference model we have a routers and i think VPN concentrate-rs and firewalls as well.

Anyone who is does not agree with my comment feel free to criticize my comment.
  • ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■
    The AP portion of the device would be layer 2, but if it is a router then it is generally referred to as a layer 3 device. A layer 3 device will still have layer 1 and 2 functionality/reliance, but we don't refer to these as layer 1 or 2 devices. Similarly, we wouldn't call them APs or switches, even if those are built in. A router with a wireless access point built in is called a wireless router.

Snow.bros, a firewall is minimally layer 4, traditionally, as even a basic firewall performs specific transport-layer functions and is transport-layer aware. However, this is where both colloquial usage and the OSI layer get a bit murky. I could make an argument that anything that performs any type of NAT is a layer 4 firewall, but you will rarely hear a NAT-capable router referred to as a firewall, or at least it seems that way. Firewalls can go up to layer 7, in any event, and VPN concentrators would generally be considered layer 5.