Best Security Certification for newbie...

new2ITSecuritynew2ITSecurity Member Posts: 25 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi there...

A little about myself. I just received my Master of Science in Cybersecurity from the UMUC (undergrad also from UMUC: Bachelor in Computer Studies). I have never worked in the IT Security field. I am currently studying for the CISSP but I am wondering if this is the best route for me to obtain a job. I would love any advice/direction! Thanks...Ali

Comments

• IristheangelIristheangel Mod Posts: 4,133 Mod
    I wouldn't consider the CISSP as an "entry-level" certification for a newbie. You might pass the test but without 5 years of security job experience, you're not really getting the CISSP. I would recommend picking up some certifications that you can put on your resume: Security+, CASP, etc
    BS, MS, and CCIE #50931
    Blog: www.network-node.com
  • zxshockaxzzxshockaxz Member Posts: 108
    Iris hit the nail on the head.
    I would get your 5 years work experience before going for the CISSP. If you don't have any certifications yet, security+ is going to be the easiest to get, and it doesn't require any work experience. CCENT/CCNA will be a good way to get your foot in the door and start getting some related work experience. If you're interested in the penetration testing route, the Offensive Security certifications are great and require no work experience, as well as the eLearnSecurity certifications.
  • new2ITSecuritynew2ITSecurity Member Posts: 25 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Thanks Iris...would you recommend studying for the SSCP over Security +...
  • IristheangelIristheangel Mod Posts: 4,133 Mod