CCIE or CISSP

silentzerosilentzero Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am at a crossroads and was looking for some advice from all you seasoned pro's. I am currently a network security architect, and looking to take my next step on the cert path. I have been studying for the CCIE written for about a month now (started immediately after finishing the CCNP), and I know this path is a long one, and I have been having doubts as to my direction.

I have been contemplating taking the CISSP exam for over a year now, and am curious as if it would be a stronger positive on my CV in the near term, then going after the CCIE (the long term goal). Just curious on thoughts here. Thank you so very much!

Comments

• YFZbluYFZblu Member Posts: 1,462 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Comparatively these are apples and oranges, of course. If you are strictly applying for security-related roles, I would assume the CISSP would be a better bargaining chip than a certification based on routing and switching. My two cents.
  • instant000instant000 Member Posts: 1,745
    If you just completed the CCNP, then you'd most likely be going for the CCIE:R&S. Is that the case?

The CCIE:R&S is often in the neighborhood of 1,000+ hours of study beyond the CCNP. I started prepping at the end of March this year, and it could be late 2014 before I'm ready for the lab.

I studied for a month to clear the CISSP.

Now, if you're looking for Security jobs, many job postings will ask for the CISSP, so that may have more general utility for you.

Maybe you have considered all of this.

If you are worn out now, though, then I don't know what to tell you. You do even more reading and labbing to prepare for the lab than you did for the written.

If your brain is truly burned out, then the CISSP should be a lot easier for you.

If not that, try the Design track. Your title does say "Architect".
    If not that, try the NP-Security track.

Hope this helps.
    Currently Working: CCIE R&S