Passed GCIH today

YFZbluYFZblu Member Posts: 1,462 ■■■■■■■■□□
Hi all,

As the title indicates, I passed the GCIH this afternoon - I scored a 90%. Definitely not l337, but I'm not disappointed with it either. The SEC504 course is a fun track.

I have been doing Incident Handling for about 8 months so that was a huge leg up; a lot of what we see day-to-day is included in the material for the SEC504 course. Which speaks to the ability of Ed Skoudis to keep things current.

In preparation I attended the SEC504 course taught by Kevin Fiscus in San Francisco this month. After attending the bootcamp I studied my weak areas while creating an index but did not go overboard like I did with the GSEC; re-reading every single word from every single book and burning myself out.

Next up - Sort of a mixed bag. I would really like to attend the FOR408 class in-person when SANS comes to Scottsdale in February, so that's something to keep my eye on. I hope to attend with the Work Study program. I recently bought TCP/IP Illustrated (1st edition) and I'm excited to immerse myself in one of the 'bibles' of TCP/IP. Other than that I will keep moving through my Python studies and hold off on any certification goals until after I hear back about FOR408.

Additionally, I still have one GCIH practice exam available and will give it to the first person who PM's me with their SANS account ID. As always, thanks to everyone for the support here. This forum is a great resource and a large part of the my career's success is because of the community TE offers.

Comments

• azmattazmatt Member Posts: 114
  • chanakyajupudichanakyajupudi Member Posts: 712
    Congrats !

I am also planning the 408 this October. Have applied for the Work Study ! Hoping for the best. I did the GSEC and GCIH classes. Exams pending. GCIH on the 9th of September.
    Work In Progress - RHCA [ ] Certified Cloud Security Professional [ ] GMON/GWAPT if Work Study is accepted [ ]
    http://adarsh.amazonwebservices.ninja