Which Cert's next, looking for advice.

MokilokMokilok Member Posts: 18 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone,

I have found a lot of conflicting advice on the web as to which certification paths to take so I'm looking for specific suggestions from experienced people (like you lot).

I already work in IT in a support/systems admin type role. I work primarily with windows and have only very basic experience with Linux.

I have about 8 years experience in IT, I hold a Cert IV in Information Technology, I have around an A+ knowledge of hardware, I have my CCNA, I'm currently working on CCNA Security as part of my Advanced Diploma in Network Security.

I'm definitely interested in penetration testing but I wouldn't be apposed to doing something else if it meant getting my foot in the door in security.

What certifications should I look at getting after I've completed my Adv Diploma?

I saw people suggesting Linux+/LPIC in another thread on this forum so I was considering that as a first cert but what about after that?

Can you offer any advice or suggestions for getting my foot in the door for what I want to do?

Thanks for your help.

Comments

• Master Of PuppetsMaster Of Puppets Member Posts: 1,210
    You are already a sys admin which is great! Generally, LPI is more recognized in Europe and RedHat in the US. RH is considered the better option by many people and for a reason. However, I have no idea about Australia. As far as getting the knowledge, LPIC will be great because it does not tie you to any specific distro and it does serve well for getting started. For someone with little experience, I think it's the right choice.

CEH will help you get in because it is highly valued by HR(again - WHY!?). Taking into account you background, that shouldn't be too hard. It's kind of an entry cert.