I want to start a Career in IT

keven702keven702 Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys , I have a associates degree in Liberal Arts and currently working towards becoming a physical therapist but my

parents lost their jobs so , I am interested in starting a career in IT mainly for job opportunities and a good paying job. I've been

reading on IT certs and what I should get but frankly I'm overwhelmed .I reside in NYC and I am and wondering what is a high in

demand and also well paying job/ career I can pursue , for example : Cisco, Microsoft, etc...

I am planning on getting my A+ and Network+ as a start but classes are around 2.5k each, not mentioning the test fee. You

think its a good idea to take the classes or am I going to be ok with a textbook and a practice test?

Comments

• CodyFCodyF Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Hi there!
    The certifications you end up pursuing will revolve mostly around what you actually want to do. If you're more interested in network administration, you might decide to go for the CompTIA Network+, or Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA) certifications. If you would rather work with end users (the people who make use of computers and resources), getting Microsoft certified is a good idea. Further, if you want a career securing existing networks, certifications like CISSP, C|EH, and CHFI will be what you would aim for.

If you're really not sure what you want to do, the CompTIA A+, Network+, and Security+ are usually a great way to get into the field. Courses are expensive, but you can buy self-study materials which are far cheaper. Having an instructor is a huge benefit for most people but, if you can study on your own, you'll save a lot of money.
  • BokehBokeh Member Posts: 1,636 ■■■■■■■□□□