What are the logical steps to CISSP?

RedGaiterRedGaiter Member Posts: 83 ■■□□□□□□□□
I'm looking to have a career in IT security and was wondering what the most logical steps are to achieve the CISSP certification. I'm currently enrolled in a post-secondary institution that will eventually give me a bachelors in Network Security Administration, which I assume will help my resume.

The certifications I currently have are A+ and Network+, and I am currently studying for Security+. Which certifications should I pursue after those to get CISSP? Do I need any Cisco (CCNA/CCNP) or Microsoft certs? Or should I get CISA, CISM, then CISSP?

Comments

• holysheetmanholysheetman Member Posts: 113 ■■■□□□□□□□
    if you have a few years experience in a few of the domains (there are 10) that the CISSP consists of, then I would attempt the exam. If not, then you should attempt the junior level certs as you've already mentioned as a stepping stone towards the CISSP. Just google anything on "CISSP study guide" or whatever and you'll find a plethora of avenues you can go. Hope this helps and good luck!
  • RedGaiterRedGaiter Member Posts: 83 ■■□□□□□□□□
    if you have a few years experience in a few of the domains (there are 10) that the CISSP consists of, then I would attempt the exam. If not, then you should attempt the junior level certs as you've already mentioned as a stepping stone towards the CISSP. Just google anything on "CISSP study guide" or whatever and you'll find a plethora of avenues you can go. Hope this helps and good luck!

I'll most likely have to go the junior level cert route. I just don't know which ones to get exactly.
  • da_vatoda_vato Member Posts: 445
    Security+ is a good stepping stone as it will allow you to offset one year of experience. After that though I would pursue a CCNA if I were you because it would accent your degree and give you a better understanding of how a network is functioning. Then gear up for the CISSP.
    da_vato wrote: »