Options

Passed CISSP 03/29/2013 - 30-day study plan

glentcglentc Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
[Title should have read 08/29/2013]

This is my first attempt at the CISSP exam which I passed it today 08/29/2013 in 2.5 hours. It sure wasn't a fun exam to take and I was all stressed out by the time I finished the last question. A lot of the tips that I read in these forums did help a lot with me with studying for this test. Here is my study plan and IT work history.

20 years of IT experience, last 5 years in IT Security field
* Worked in local government, universities and the corporate field.
* Experienced with administrating linux, unix, Windows, Apple environments.
* Incident investigation.
* Virus & Trojan investigations. Tracking down source vectors and determine if other employees downloaded the malware.
* Managing DMZ servers and Check point firewalls and IPS.
* Managing Websense Proxy servers to log all activities for investigation or public record requests.
* SIEM and syslog.
* Managing university computer labs. Physical lockdown of workstations & monitors, cipher locks and access control.
* Administrating Reverse proxy servers, Apache webservers, and SMTP servers.

Study Plan
* Goal was to take the CISSP test in 30 days of the start of the exam.
* Review this website for ideas for study plans and tips for taking the test.
* IMHO the best book that I read was "CISSP Study Guide" by Eric Conrad.
* The next best book that I used was "Eleventh Hour CISSP: Study Guide" by Eric Conrad.
* The first book that I purchased but I didn't really like was "CISSP All-In-One Exame Guide 5th Edition" by Shon Harris
* Purchased the Transcenders CISSP
* Downloaded the exam program from the Shon Harris book.
* First week I read the Shon Harris book. It was a long and boring read. It was painful to read so I bought the Conrad books.
* Second week I finished the Conrad book and purchased the Transcenders and began working on the questions.