Options

Skipping A+ and Net+ for Linux+ with no experience...

fattymcninjafattymcninja Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey everyone, I'm new to this forum but after reading a lot of older threads it seems like a great place to ask my question.

I have a bachelors and two masters in completely non-technical fields (Theology (x2) and Library Science) and now I'm working in food service. I became interested in computers during my bachelors when I built my first desktop. A little later I became interested in Linux. Since then I've always thought I would like to work with Linux as a career. I've been putting it off because I simply don't know where to start going about proving myself. I am also not the most confident person in the world. Ha ha. Its getting to the point where food service work is killing me and I can't wait to come home and work on something on my computer and learn something new about Linux. I'm not worried about pay because frankly, there is no where to fall to. I just want to do something I enjoy.

I see a lot of people recommending A+ and Net+ for people changing careers in order to allow them to experience a wide range of technologies and see what they like, but I've already found what I like (Linux). I also have looked through the A+ book and know all the information in it. On the one hand, some people on these boards have claimed that the A+ can be a detriment if you start on help desk and get pigeon-holed into that type of role. On the other hand, I've also seen people say if you start out with a higher cert, like CCNA for networking, you may have trouble if you have no experience. Does this hold true for Linux+ or RHCSA certs as well? Is help-desk basically necessary for someone like me?

TL;DR - Can I start with RHCSA (perhaps by way of Linux+) or will my lack of any IT experience kill any chances of getting a real career off the ground?

Comments

• Options
    prampram Member Posts: 171