Could anyone rate/critique my resume?

ZoomerZoomer Member Posts: 126
Here's page 1:

resume16bt.th.gif

And page 2:

resume22mt.th.gif

I'm looking for an entry-level IT position anywhere in my area (chicago and suburbs) if possible. I know that looking at my past job history there isn't anything relevant to IT, but I have to start somewhere. I've also heard that ITT students are held in disregard, but I'm almost finished and I can't really do anything about that now.

I'm studying really hard so I can get my A+ certification soon (hopefully by July) and my Net+ soon afterwards. Can anyone give me any pointers from an IT prospective to how it looks in general as resumes go.

Comments

• gabrielbtoledogabrielbtoledo Member Posts: 217
    Hey, I can talk much about. I'm not even employed (looking for job). However, I'm done with school (just graduate this semester), have A+, Net+ and MCP Certs. I will take CCNA in a few weeks, but after all of this... I have no experience besides the labs at school and home.
    The only IT job I had was a Network Administrator's Assistant and only for few months. I was actually helping my friend to deply new OS to 500 boxes. Also helping with tech support for internals.
    That might be the main reason I can't get a job, which I believe will afect you in the same way. So if you can take some experience while you are in school, do it. Even if it's to work at the school comp lab or such. It wil increase your chances to find a job quicker.

Well, I have 2 interviews thursday... lets pray I can get something.

Good luck to you.
    A+ Certified - Network+ - MCP (70-290)
    MCSA - CCNA - Security+ (soon)
  • Go BucksGo Bucks Member Posts: 152
    The biggest problem you have with your resume is that it needs to be only one page long. You need to move some of the stuff on your resume into a cover letter if you insist on keeping it.

Other than that I liked the overall layout. Welcome to the job hunt club :)