Options

My Trek to MCSE 2012 (Again!!!)

cknapp78cknapp78 Member Posts: 213 ■■■■□□□□□□
I swear this is the last time I am starting one of these posts...

Been lurking around here for couple of years now...so here goes. Time to finally get my certs done.

Long story short..
  1. I'm an independent IT Consultant focused mostly on the messaging side (Exchange, Lync, TMG/UAG, AD) with a little Networking (Cisco, Fortinet, Nortel) thrown in.
  2. I've tried to get my certs done for the past three years and something always comes up whether it's too much work, no work, no money, or family illness (wife had cancer and beat it).
  3. Never had the hardware to run a home lab. Always had some pieces but not everything I needed.
  4. Long term goal is to get my MCSE 2012 and my Exchange & Lync Certs. Had a goal of eventually going MCM or MCSM since I have been doing this for 16 years, but as we all know, MCM has gone the way of the dodo. Figured after all that is done, I should go after at least my CCNA and CCNP certs to flesh out my network background. Anything after that would be gravy.
No more excuses. Finally working again after 3 months off. Built out a nice 8-core AMD system to go along with the 10 TB of space sitting in my office. Have all the books and videos I need. Starting with the 70-410 exam.

Materials I have...
  1. Sybex Study Guide
  2. Microsoft 70-410 Training and Exam Ref Books.
  3. Trainsignal Videos
  4. Purchasing the CBT Nuggets and Safari Books subscriptions when I get paid in two weeks so I should not want for any training materials.
  5. Already built out a Hyper-V Server on Windows Server 2012. Created my base images already for Windows 2008, 2012, Windows 7 and 8.