Against all odds: CISSP one and done!

JoJoCal19JoJoCal19 Mod Posts: 2,835 Mod
First, I'd like to thank everyone in the CISSP forum as all of the threads and posts have been a tremendous help in this journey.

This has been a long and tough journey in passing the CISSP. It started about a year or so ago when I bought the CISSP AIO boxed set (ended up not using) and then the Conrad CISSP Study Guide. I started studying but ended up having to put the CISSP on the back burner as my bachelors degree was becoming more demanding with the difficult quant classes, and then my second daughter was born in November last year. In the beginning of this year I started my last course of my degree, which happened to be the second most difficult course. I graduated in May and immediately started over on my CISSP studies. Since then I dealt with the sale of our old house, finding a new place here in Tampa, and moving. In addition I also started somewhat mandatory overtime at work for the next couple of months. Study time was at a premium but I read about half a chapter in the Conrad book each day. I finished the Conrad Study Guide in about a month. I then moved on to reading the 11th Hour Study Guide as a more concise version of the full Study Guide. I also had a sub to the CCCure quiz engine, and purchased the Transcender practice exams. I did about 1000 practice questions between the two, however I felt the CCCure engine was too technical and the Transcender was ok but had a lot of questions set up with many multiple choice answers, which was unlike the real exam with its four choices. But the Transcender was ok. About three weeks out from testing I bought the Studiscope to see where I was at with regards to being ready, and to get a preview of what I could expect the questions to be like. I can say they did prepare me a little bit for what to expect, but I don't know if they are worth the price premium.