Advice for the tools on the C|EH and ICMP

jamesleecolemanjamesleecoleman Member Posts: 1,899 ■■■■■□□□□□
Alright so I'm studying for the C|EH. I'm trying to learn as much as I can.

I'm playing with:
Netcat
Nmap
Hping3
Wireshark
Nslookup
dig (started with it)
tcpdump (started with it)

I'm reading the "Practical Packet Analysis" to help reinforce some basic things.

Are there any suggestions for any other tools that I should be learning? I already have a list of tools on my whiteboard such as dnsenum, w3af and nikto. I've used nessus a few times but I'm not sure if they'll put that on the test. I have played around with snort before so I think I'll be okay with it.

Another problem is remembering the ICMP types and codes. I remembered the easier ones but remembering everything is going to take a little while because I don't see it everyday because I can't reproduce everything. Any advice on remembering the types and codes?
Booya!!
WIP : | CISSP [2018] | CISA [2018] | CAPM [2018] | eCPPT [2018] | CRISC [2019] | TORFL (TRKI) B1 | Learning: | Russian | Farsi |
*****You can fail a test a bunch of times but what matters is that if you fail to give up or not*****

Comments

• JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    There are a number of posts in this forum on how to select which tools to favor when studying for the CEH exam. I think Snort, Snort rules, and tshark was mentioned. I assume Cain & Abel, Ettercap, Kismet, and Aircrack-ng are on there too. It's really odd to me that CEH would continue to test on hping2 and hping3 when their replacement, nping, has been out for years now.
  • Stan LeeStan Lee Member Posts: 19 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I had read in various forums downplaying CEH as nothing more than a discussion of tools.