CCIE Thread: The right time.

Dieg0MDieg0M Member Posts: 861
Today, I passed TSHOOT and I am officially a CCNP:R&S. I should be satisfied with this and try to find a job to get more experience before attempting CCIE:R&S. Unfortunately, I have an addiction to challenges. I am constantly hungry for more knowledge and I feel obligated to push my studies towards CCIE.

As some of you may know, I left the military 2 months ago and started studying towards CCNP. I was a network administrator/engineer for around 3 years at my brigade and the SME for classified networks for around a year. In the military, I didn’t have any certifications as it made no difference for job advancement. The only thing that made me gain the respect of my peers was being knowledgeable and good at my job. Even today, I believe that a certification is just a piece of paper and it’s only real benefit is the knowledge you acquire through the journey to get it. This is why I want to pursue the CCIE certification; for the knowledge not the number.

I’ve read a lot of threads on peoples CCIE journeys and I’ve seen some succeed and a lot fail. It seems that the main reason most people fail or give up their CCIE studies is because of constant interruption by life, family or work. I have an opportunity to pursue the CCIE certification without any interruptions from these variables and I can’t say that, in the future, the right conditions for success will ever present themselves again. For this reason, this is the right time for me to start the journey. This is my CCIE thread.
Follow me at www.routingnull0.com
Follow my CCDE journey at www.routingnull0.com

Comments

• ZartanasaurusZartanasaurus Member Posts: 2,008 ■■■■■■■■■□