SANS - Master's Degree

MSP-ITMSP-IT Member Posts: 752 ■■■□□□□□□□
Didn't realize SANS offered degrees. I doubt they're accredited, but they'd be well recognized within the industry.

https://www.sans.org/event/cyber-defense-initiative-2013/masters-degree/

Comments

• chanakyajupudichanakyajupudi Member Posts: 712
    I was very interested but they are not accredited.

After a lot of thinking about the ROI I decided against it.
    Work In Progress - RHCA [ ] Certified Cloud Security Professional [ ] GMON/GWAPT if Work Study is accepted [ ]
    http://adarsh.amazonwebservices.ninja

• redzredz Member Posts: 265 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I have a friend with a SANS Master's... It's not even on his LinkedIn. I doubt much ROI without it being accredited, and last news on its accreditation was in ~2011(?) where they were a candidate.
  • JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    Right now STI is supposedly 99% of the way to CHEA accreditation. I'm thinking there will be final news on this in the next moth or two.

And yes, I checked with STI back in 2009 about their impending accreditation. They said they were hoping to get it in 2011. I'm not sure what the hang up was.
  • samurai86samurai86 Member Posts: 104 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Yea I have heard they have been waiting for the accreditation for about 3 years or so. They have applied for it, that is the one issue (Although probably the biggest issue) they have. Their classes are practical and fantastic. A bit pricey though. Once they are accredited I think their student base will rise.

Here is a general question though, once they do become accredited, will individuals who completed the program previously be able to claim they received their degree from an accredited institution?
    Bachelor's of Applied Science in Technology Management - Information Security Assurance (St. Petersburg College)
    Masters of Science in Digital Forensics (University of Central Florida)
  • 010101010101 Member Posts: 68 ■■□□□□□□□□