SSCP vs CEH vs CASP

ZomboidicusZomboidicus Member Posts: 105 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello, nice to meet you all. There was no place for introduction, so I'll use this place to introduce myself.

Currently I'm studying for CCNA security, and planning on taking it at the end of November.
My plan is to move onto CCNP and CCNP security after I am done with CCNA:S.
However, I do not want to limit my security certs to only Cisco, so I'm trying to figure out which cert take in between CCNP and CCNA:S.

My goal is to work with technical stuff like Network security (Firewalls, VPN, IDS, NAC, authE servers, etc) within 2-3 years from now, take CISSP when I have the required 5 years experience and land a managerial position like security manager (or information security officer) down the road. But prior to taking CISSP, I also want to broaden my security knowledge besides Cisco device security. I'm also interested in pen testing or a security analyst type of job where I asses the security condition within an organization.

Currently I have about 1.5 years of Help Desk/System Admin assistant experience, and wanting to move to bigger things. I also passed sec+ about a year ago, and graduated with a Network Security B.S. degree.

So my question would be, what would be the recommended path?

After taking my CCNA:S, which certification would make more sense?

SSCP? CEH? CASP?

Thank you for reading and any advice you may have.
2016 Certification Goals: Who knows :D

Comments

• ajs1976ajs1976 Member Posts: 1,945 ■■■■□□□□□□
    SSCP over CASP - SSCP is from ISC2 and is more recognized. CASP is newer, but may become more popular over time.
    Andy

2020 Goals: 0 of 2 courses complete, 0 of 2 exams complete
  • ZomboidicusZomboidicus Member Posts: 105 ■■□□□□□□□□
    OK, thanks for the input. I'll look into SSCP as opposed to CASP.