which path to go down

rockstar81rockstar81 Member Posts: 151
Ok guys I have come to a stand still career wise. I have 5 years experience doing HW and SW support over the phone and hold MCP XP, Network + and A+ certs. My current job has got me so down, basically I get a lot of abuse from customers as the company I work for don’t do a very good job at selling there extended warranties and basically lie about what they cover plus the customers I am talking to no nothing and talking them through a wireless network set up is like trying to move a pen with your mind at times. Anyhow lol... I want some kind of structure as to what path to go down, I quite like the Cisco route however I am concerned that when its all said and done I am going to have to try and get mcse, Cisco and every other cert under the sun just to be considered for another job, career wise my confidence is at a all time low. I am 25 years old and seriously thinking of leaving IT due to being in a runt job wise, can anyone please give me some direction(I know that sounds a bit lame but I am just so lost at the moment as what route to take next)..Any pointers would be great, thanks everyone.

Comments

• OlajuwonOlajuwon Inactive Imported Users Posts: 356
    Go for the MCSE and CCNA. Those certs are well respected and recognized. They will highly increase your chances of getting a higher paying and more respected job. Phone tech support for large companies sucks and you will take abuse on a daily basis.

I am 2 exams short of my MCSE and I am also studying for CCNA. I can't stress it enough how much knowledge I have accumulated since I began my certification journey. Good luck.
    "And in the end, it's not the years in your life that count. It's the life in your years"
  • Badger95Badger95 Member Posts: 65 ■■□□□□□□□□