Options

VCP5-DCV needs to change

dave330idave330i Member Posts: 2,091 ■■■■■■■■■■
I think VMware needs to revamp VCP exam. Customers are expecting people with VCP to be skill enough to design virtual environments, but that's not what the exam actually tests. The exam mostly covers daily admin skills. They should push the admin skills to VCA and turn VCP into DCD\DCA lite and change the recommended training from ICM to Optimize.
2018 Certification Goals: Maybe VMware Sales Cert
"Simplify, then add lightness" -Colin Chapman

Comments

• Options
    kj0kj0 Member Posts: 767
    I agree, but also disagree with you, Dave. I'm currently studying the VCP and there is a fair chunk of stuff that I wouldn't see on a day to day basis unless I'm design/setting up a new infrastructure. admittedly, I am ready Scott Lowe's Mastering vSphere 5 at the moment and that is a deep dive of more than you need to know for the exam, but it all helps.perhaps a split, some content gets moved down to VCA, and the rest stays at the VCP level. For example, VCA could have. Creating VMs and setting up HA. Where VCP could have more in-depth about VMFS or vSS/vDS.

It was obvious that there were a couple of different levels inside the VCP cert when I went from reading, to CBT videos, to Trainsignal Videos.

A good example of the Content that should be in VCA is the level in the Mac Intergration Associate exam. That exam covered Binding to Open Directory, to Binding to AD, Basic troubleshooting (from an admin perspective), etc. Then the Management Associate stepped it up to creating deployment packages by script, etc.

After two plus years experience with vSphere, I've certainly found about 60% more in the VCP manuals and blueprint, then from my day to day activities and that also include the current design/scoping we are going through at the moment
    2017 Goals: VCP6-DCV | VCIX
    Blog: https://readysetvirtual.wordpress.com
  • Options
    jibbajabbajibbajabba Member Posts: 4,317 ■■■■■■■■□□