Associate of SSCP worth it?

AaronsmityAaronsmity Member Posts: 13 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have a bachelors degree in management information systems and was an IT auditor for 2 years before being laid off in 2009. At the time I was studying for the SSCP which was going to be paid for by my employer at that time. After I was laid off I put all my efforts into finding another job and put the SSCP on the backburner. I find myself employed in a different field completely unrelated to security and really lacking any kind of gained technical or security experience from this job. I want to try to pursue something in information security but I find that the field I am in now is harder to transition into that role. When I was an IT auditor it was much easier path.

I guess my question is, would it be worth it to be an associate of SSCP to find a job or is it just useless? Seems to me just passing a test but lacking any job experience would be a waste of time and effort. Anyone out there just have an associate of SSCP and received job offers or even interviewed with this credential?

Thanks.

Comments

• YFZbluYFZblu Member Posts: 1,462 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Probably not worth it at the SSCP level; if you have to live with the 'associate' designation, you might as well go all the way and grab the CISSP.

You do make a good point, a true SSCP or CISSP is inherently valuable because there is experience to go along with it. That being said I do think we have some Associate CISSP's who post here, hopefully they can give some solid advice. The CISSP is so marketable as it is, simply having it on your resume, even if it is an Associate, will still show up in a lot of keyword searches recruiters do. Which IMO, is a large part of the battle.
  • HumbeHumbe Member Posts: 202
    YFZblu recently I've seen a drop of salary range because of how many people are becoming CISSP. Not sure what will come next.
  • Khaos1911Khaos1911 Member Posts: 366