Options

College major trouble :(

Nicolle969Nicolle969 Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone! So I'm in my second year of college now. And I really am thinking about majoring in Computer information Systems rather than Computer Science because I heard it is extremely difficult. But my biggest concern is will CIS get me a good job in the future? I'm planning to get my bachelor of science degree in CIS. No one has been helping me understand any of this. But I'm not sure if I should do CIS in business or technology related. If there is a difference because I heard there was ? Lol. I also don't want to graduate college and not find a job. I did hear CIS offers no jobs and that it's a dead major to get a degree in. That is the one thing I am deeply terrified of. icon_sad.gif I hope I don't confuse anyone because lately I've been so confused myself. Hope to hear from someone soon.

Comments

• Options
    TechGuru80TechGuru80 Member Posts: 1,539 ■■■■■■□□□□
    CS is by nature more about programming where CIS is more about management of systems. You can also look at the class requirements for your school to get more of an idea. People have all kinds of degrees or even no degrees so if you don't get a job it won't be because you have a CIS degree. Specializations are gaining ground so it is possible that's what they were referring to.

Not sure what you mean in business or technology? MIS? Generally a lot of the CIS/MIS programs sit in the school of business. There might be some business classes so you can communicate with other departments for the business related?
  • Options
    ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■