Required experience for job

BryanM67BryanM67 Member Posts: 21 ■□□□□□□□□□
I was wondering...

when an employer wants someone with tons of certifications (such as must have A+, CCNP, CCSP, MCSE, MCDST, CCISP, etc) and must have 5+ years of experience in a bunch of disciplines, with solid work history, etc, etc.

Do they usually find someone that fits all the requirements or do they settle with someone who fits only some of the requirements? Just wondering since I read some job listings on monster.com and other websites, then wonder if there really is someone that has everything the employer wants.

Any input would be appreciated.

Comments

• keatronkeatron Member Posts: 1,213 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Often times when you see a job ad for tons of requirements like that it's either the product of an HR department or firm who has no clue what they're asking for, or it is a company who's hoping to find an out of work technical consultant. Being a consultant myself, I can vouch that you are literally forced to gain expertise in many areas of IT. The fact that you are in and out of many different companies and face many different dynamics in a years time gives you a wealth of experience you just wouldn't get working for one company. Of course most companies want someone with that experience, but they rarely want to pay for it. Which is why they usually end up settling for less.
  • jpeezy55jpeezy55 Member Posts: 255
    I've also realized that a lot of companies that place ads always say the same thing, "3-5 years experience", "Bachelors Degree" and it's like they just copy one another when they place their ads. They probably know very little about what they are asking for, but ..."if ABC Company is requesting it, then we should too!"

Apply for them anyway, who knows, even if you get in for an interview and they have no plans to bring you back for another one, you still win by gaining the experience of sitting through it.