Options

How do you go about looking for a new job w/o making your current employer angry?

GLaDOS11GLaDOS11 Member Posts: 34 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi Guys,

Finally decided to create an account here because everyone has helped me so much over the past 2 years.

I just turned 26 years old and am currently making about $26,000 a year in a desktop support role with a lot of server administration as well. I am very thankful for this job because the experience is absolutely wonderful to start off my career, but it's getting harder and harder to live on 26k a year. I have about 2 years experience in this job now and my current employer has not really shown any interest in raising my pay, despite my efforts to convince him otherwise. I also have another year of experience doing mostly laptops configurations for a big company. I have the A+ and Net + and I'm a MCP (70-640 passed). I plan on having the MCSA: Server 2008 by February at the latest.

My question is, how have some of you gone about looking for a job while currently employed full time? I am getting calls asking for interviews, but it's very difficult for me to keep leaving work without ticking off my boss. I don't want to leave this job until I have another one, but I feel like 26k a year is pretty below average and I think I could find something higher paying. Any advice on this from the TE community?

BTW: I live in Florida.

Comments

• Options
    LarryDaManLarryDaMan Member Posts: 797
    If this might be a problem: Keep it quiet. Take calls outside. Don't gossip. If you have to leave for a dental appointment (read: interview), leave your suit in the car and change at the gym or public restroom. Just be discreet and it shouldn't be a big deal.
  • Options
    redzredz Member Posts: 265 ■■■□□□□□□□