Job opportunity

RavenclawRavenclaw Member Posts: 43 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi Everyone,

I had a question I though I would post and get some feedback.

I am working toward my networking career. My friend said his bank has an opening in Tech support, I passed the phone interview with the general HR. person. She told me it was dealing heavy in Excel and mainframes and a lot of troubleshooting. I can brush up on my Excel skills but I have no mainframe experience. She said its entry level and set it up for a face to face interview in 5 days with a IT supervisor. The bank has a huge network division so I am looking to try to migrate into that dept. and use this as a stepping stone. I don't have any mainframe experience, a little bit of java back in school. The job involves looking up files and troubleshooting card issues.

That being said, is there anything I can learn or pickup so that I can show that I have the ability or willingness to learn. The are using IBM mainframes, any ideas or am I barking up a tree here. I have looked at jobs with things like Cobol, JCL, CSIS, but I don't know how feasible it is to learn these and not look like an idiot.

All opinions welcome

Regards

Comments

• prampram Member Posts: 171
    You're in luck! IBM has a yearly contest for learning z/OS and it's going on right now.

https://contest-reg.dfw.ibm.com/contest/usaca.nsf
  • RavenclawRavenclaw Member Posts: 43 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I am not a student anymore can I still register?
  • veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I know a lot web sites for students simply want a .edu e-mail address. Good luck with the interview.
  • lsud00dlsud00d Member Posts: 1,571