Studying Dilema - Need Input

Hey Guys;

I am currently in a Dilemma; My employer has informed staff that they are offering Vouchers for employees to sit the MCSA 2012 exams (70-410,70-411,70-412) for free, however these vouchers expire in Jan of 2014.

My Dilemma is that my Background and current study path leads more down the Networking side of IT rather than Microsoft/Wintel side. (I have a bachelors degree in Computer science majoring in Networking and Security and also have numerous Cisco Certifications.) I am currently reviewing the ITIL foundations Material and then plan to move on to the Cisco CCNA:S material once passing ITIL.

However after hearing about this offering I was tempted to jump straight away into studying for the MCSA 2012; What are you thoughts? I don't really see how this could benefit me and my background is in Networking and don't see the Microsoft certifications allowing me to progress in my current role? How long would you suggest it would take to pass all three exams (70-410,70-411,70-412)? I have quite a lot of prior experience using Windows server and am quite switched on when it comes to studying.

Just would like some of you senior guys to provide me with some feedback to whether you think it would be good to put a hold on my current Certification plans and opt to take up this opportunity?

Cheers!

Comments

• Theegg911Theegg911 Member Posts: 124
    I think you should AT LEAST do the 70-410. It is of course the easiest and will at least show future employers that you have a basic understanding of the MS Server. Do not do the other 2 unless you want to specialize or if you work in a Microsoft specific IT dept.
    Next Goal: Office 365 70-346 (Scheduled for 9/25)
  • StussyNzStussyNz Member Posts: 177
    Theegg911 wrote: »