Options

Introduction, and a question regarding college reputation vs course quality/relevance

absaelabsael Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everybody, I've been lurking here for a few days, and decided to register and introduce myself, and ask for help with a question that I've been trying to resolve.

First, a bit of info about me (this is kind of long, sorry; if you want to skip the non-essential stuff, please go to the tl;dr at the bottom icon_wink.gif). I'm an older guy who has been in the computer industry (PC repair, desktop support, some network admin, and customer service) for my entire life, but recently I've been having a hard time finding jobs, and I'm currently unemployed. I've never had any certs, but I'm studying for the A+. I'm leaning towards doing the Network+ after that, but I'm still undecided on that one because I would definitely like to get the CCNA, and I'm wondering whether the time spent studying for the Network+ would be better spent on the CCNA.

Also, I'm working towards an AS (for transfer, not a trade degree) at the local community college. I'm halfway done with the AS. I'm planning my course schedule for next semester, and I need to select courses that I can transfer to a 4-year college, so I need to decide which one to attend (I'm pretty much set on getting a BS of some kind, for reasons of personal satisfaction as well as career advancement). I've spent a lot of time visiting college websites, trying to figure out which BS to pursue. I will have to take an entirely-online program.

Ideally, I think that I would probably be happiest in an IT job. However, I'm not quite convinced that a BSIT would open as many doors as a BSCS or even a BSCIS, based on a perusal of job listings. OTOH, a BSCS at a "good" college would involve some pretty intense courses, and despite the fact that I'm maintaining a GPA of 3.9, I'm not sure that I want to subject myself to that when I'll probably not have a use for the majority of the courses.