Can I do it in three months from this starting point?

5502george5502george Member Posts: 264
So I am giving myself three months and am going to try and take the CISSP test in late January. I know this is a ambitious endeavor but I feel that I have a good foundation on about 6 of the domains. I took the Sec+ in December last year and received a 900/900 but was prepped by a crash course (although I did study for about four months prior).

-I just took a practice exam from VTE (government sponsored training ~150 questions) and received a 60% with absolutely no studying at all.

-I am receiving the Son Harris 6th ed. tomorrow and am planning on knocking out a domain a week and having one week for just practice exams and flash cards

-I will devote about 2-3 hours a day to study and about 6 hours on the weekends

.....Do you think this is possible? Any suggestions?

BTW I am an InfoSec manager (2 years) and have only about 3 years exp. in general crypto

Comments

• 5502george5502george Member Posts: 264
    Does anyone have any idea if there are particular domains that are weighted more than others in this CISSP?
  • beadsbeads Member Posts: 1,531 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Officially they are all weighted the same. In practice, from what I have read over the years, is that physical and DRM/BCP appear to have the fewest questions while networking and crypto come up quite regularly. Not that you aren't responsible for those domains but reported to have the least number of actual questions involved on the test. As with anything else, any domain you study less for will be the one that comes replete over your individualized exam.

Add to that anyone who has taken the exam is also under a NDA not to discuss the exam or its contents. I am only reporting what I have read over the number of years of reading this and many other boards. icon_rolleyes.gif

- B Eads
  • beadsbeads Member Posts: 1,531 ■■■■■■■■■□
    5502george wrote: »