Options

College Degree: I realize I have made a mistake...

It may sound like I'm complaining. I think, however, that this is something every college student wanting to get into IT should read.

It was not until my senior year that I realized what I wanted to do. Although I was a Finance major by this time, I had taken some computer science courses. I did not know what was necessary to get into the industry until later that year when I took my networking course. I thought that the courses I have took in computer science would help me secure a position, but I guess I was wrong. Employers seem to want a DEGREE as opposed to certain COURSES. Looking back, I would've been better off with an Information Systems degree or maybe even an associates in Information Technology. Now I'm stuck with an unrelated major which is useless in IT and I will have to find a job in that unrelated major. I can't directly get into IT unless I have a related degree in one. Now I have to focus on getting IT certifications to make up for my mistake. It is the only way to break into the field.

I kept hearing from people that IT professionals have degrees in various fields. What I now realize is that those people managed to break into IT through working in their unrelated job for months or years. These people have not directly gotten a job in IT. By telling others of their unrelated degrees, many will think that IT degrees or any other related degrees are not necessary. Now I will have to get a second bachelors degree or a masters degree in a related field such as MIS or IT or CS. I thought that having a different degree as opposed to other IT professionals would help differentiate me, but it has only made my situation worse.