Studying for the CCNA

skivesskives Member Posts: 92 ■■□□□□□□□□
I am studying for my CCNA and I feel like when I am reading the book it is going in one ear and out the other. I mean if I am repeatly doing something I will hook on to it and not forget it. I think because I am reading one topic to the next I am having a hard time absorbing and retaining the information. Any suggestions?

Thanks,
John

Comments

• Johnie 5Johnie 5 Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Visualize that your doing what youre reading in real life. This will trick your mind into remembering the information.
  • dublin_101dublin_101 Member Posts: 36 ■■□□□□□□□□
    if u can, buy some routers and switches....and do labs, labs, and more labs.....you will learn so much from doing the labs...

with theory related information, i always try and relate it to something in real life....this make me remember a little easier.....

ps....sometimes it does feel like it is going out the other ear, but when you do a test you realise that some is remembered.......do regular quizes....also, i personally try and read a little bit every day and not just one big block on one day!...

best of luck!
  • porengoporengo Member Posts: 343
    When I was studying for my CCNA, there were times when I often felt as if the material was going in one ear and out the other. However, once I was able to put together my own home lab and worked with the actual equipment, I was able to better visualize how things worked. I often took whatever labs were in the books I was studying from, and would modify them to make them more complicated. Which would force me to troubleshoot and correct any problems I would run into. This solidified what I was learning and gave me more confidence. And if I had a difficult time trying to get a lab to work, I would use a very valuable resource to help me...the people in this forum.
  • strauchrstrauchr Member Posts: 528 ■■■□□□□□□□