PMP Passed - Today

Hey guys just passed the PMP and wanted to share my experiences. This forum helped me set the course for study methods etc...

I used about 6 weeks of prep to pass the exam. I did not study straight through as this method does not work fo rme. I take two weeks off three weeks before the test to let things digest then hit it again the week before the exam. I would have taken the exam earlier but I did not want to pay the $70 with the 30 day window change fee.

I have been doing Project Mangement stuff for about 20 years.

I primarily used the RITA System and read her book about 4-5 times. Three times all the way through and a couple of times I skimed.

I also purchased the PMBOK hard copy. - I was not able to connect to the way the nfo was presented so I did nto use it much.

Andy Crowe - I read through Andy once all the way and skimmed another time. It reall helped simplify the asdvanced way that RITA presents things. I fekt that I 'Got it" after reading Andy.

I read opinions of how people take many different exam prep questions and DB's. I did not go that route. I went through the Oliver Leman once and used the Rita exam prep questions for the rest of my prep.

I also looked at a few you tube videos for process and formula memorization techniques (I used the ones suggested in earlier posts SirGhanttalot and Ed Kroulis). At exam time I wrote them all down but did not need to check anything. I already knew the info. It was more of a safety blanket.

I am a firm believer in take as many questions as you can. Not to memorize them but understand the purpose of the questions and why the answer is correct. I think I took a total of 500 questions until the day before the exam in batches of 20.

I took the exam prep questions by knowledge area (KA) only. I wanted to make sure I understood each area in depth without distractions from other KA groups.