Options

Difficulties in the life of an IT professional

thesemantheseman Member Posts: 230
Hey everyone,

I am doing a paper on the above-mentioned subject. Since I am only a student and not yet an industry person, I was wondering if anyone here could share some of their experience. Some of the obvious ones I have covered (i.e. job availibility), but I am sure there must be some very interesting takes on things you guys find difficult/frustrating in your careers.

Any juicy quotes that I could use would be appreciated as well, just make a note in your post if its ok that I use them in the paper! (with due credit of course)

Thanks!

Travis

Comments

• Options
    rbowmanrbowman Member Posts: 59 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Heres a good quote: Always never forget to check your sources.

I have not gotten into the industry yet either but jobs seem bountiful. The only problem is that the availibility for those jobs is never for entry level people. Most require experience icon_sad.gif
  • Options
    WebmasterWebmaster Admin Posts: 10,292 Admin
    Here's a couple of suggestions, which you could work out/research further on your own:

- Having to stay up to date with new technology. As an IT professional, you will always be learning new things, even to do the same old job. Much of the time spent on learning will be your own time, and not the boss'.

- Working with people. Many IT professionals are great at the technical stuff, but need to put more time into 'human-skills', which can be very difficult.

- Working with incompetent coworkers. Though since the boom and bubble past many rather incapable IT workers went on doing something else, any IT professional will have to put up and work together with people who are obviously not competent to do the job.
  • Options
    Thanks for the replies!