A little help

thomaja53thomaja53 Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm a noob. If the answer is obvious, don't make me feel dumb about it.

I have two seperate servers running Server 2008 r2 on Virtual Box. I created a Forwarder in both domains in the DNS manager. I thought I'd done everything right, but whenever I try to create a two way transitive forest trust between the servers using a Windows domain under "Trust Type", I get the error "Cannot continue The New Trust Wizard cannot continue because the specified domain cannot be contacted." When I ping either server, I get the error "Destination Host Unreachable" I am using the internal network in Virtual Box and have no problem connecting domain controllers in the same tree. I'm open to any suggestions.

Comments

• CrikeyCrikey Member Posts: 59 ■■□□□□□□□□
  • BGravesBGraves Member Posts: 339
    ^Agree with above, and then from there verifying network settings on each server. You def will want to be able to ping between the servers before trying to establish a trust.
  • LunchbocksLunchbocks Member Posts: 319 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Also, make sure that both servers are in the same subnet, and are pointing to the same gateway. Try pinging each other's IP address. If the pings work, then ping each other using the host name to make sure DNS is resolving correctly. Also, make sure you turn on network discovery in the Network and Sharing Center.
    If you set up DNS correctly and it is using root hints, you shouldn't need to set up manual forwarders.
    Degree: Liberty University - B.S Computer Science (In Progress)
    Current Certs: CCENT | MCTS | Network+
    Currently Working On: Security+
    2020 Goals: CCNA, CCNP Security, Linux+

• thomaja53thomaja53 Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□