Problems studying for Linux+ LX-101

maliasmalias Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey all, first post, long time lurker.

So I'm finding that I am having extraordinary difficulty preparing myself for the LX-101 test. I feel like I have resorted to having to cram every command and flag/option under the sun to prepare for this exam-I'm finding it to be much less enjoyable then the prep I did for my Cisco certifications as those were much more hands on style certifications-I studied for those primarily through labbing with physical gear.

I'm taking the course through WGU and am preparing using LabSim's test out-their practice exams seem to revolve around mostly identifying commands and a variety of options/flags. As such, I've been going through the course and writing down notes for the commands they introduce along with the bulk of these options. It feels impractical to memorize all of these options..but from what I know about the exam, its all fill in the blank/multiple choice style test.

I've been working on entering the commands in at the cli to enforce the learning of these various commands, but I seem to continuously forget several of these different options-some of them are just not very intuitive. I feel abit lost here in how to go about preparing for this-any recommendations for getting the command options to stick (or insight as to just how many of these options I'm supposed to remember for each command?)

Comments

• southsouth Member Posts: 43 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Wow, I feel the exact same way. I too feel like this is very different from Cisco prep. I am glad that I am learning Linux, but I can't wait to get back into Cisco (Security to be exact). I feel like I am going about it wrong learning 10+ options for every command. I guess it doesn't feel all that practical. I am using the Transcender flashcards but haven't taken the practice exam yet. I have read a lot, and I also have flashcards made. I really want to take this exam and get it over with.