Options

Switching from server administration to networking

FrostbiteFrostbite Member Posts: 29 ■■■□□□□□□□
So, I've been working with Windows servers for about 13 years now and frankly, I'm pretty bored with it. I've discovered that my true interests are in Cisco networking. I've been pursuing the CCNA and on certain subjects, gone into CCNP level depth just to learn as much as I can.

At my current job, I'm a one man show but there really isn't much in the way of network configuration or troubleshooting. Almost my entire job has consisted of Windows servers with a little networking thrown in as needed. The problem is, I've got 13 years experience in IT but I'm not sure how relevant it would be when applying for a pure networking job. I would rather not have to end up back on the help desk, but more importantly, I can't really afford to take a huge pay cut just to start in a new field.

Has anyone else gone through this or can some of the veterans offer any advice?

Comments

• Options
    abramsgunnerabramsgunner Member Posts: 31 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Not a useful answer for you... just wanted to raise my hand and say 'I'm in the same boat'...

I've been in a medium size shop (11 techs) for the last 13 years and am probably 2 years past 'well done'.

We are a full service shop.. as in we do whatever our SMB customers need; so you get a little bit of everything that a 10-50 user network has to offer. Pull a cable, basic end user help-desk, Windows server and workstation deployments, multi-site VPN'd networks using Sonicwalls , lots of malware removal, and lately more FREAKING email troubleshooting than I can stand... etc.etc.